What Genre?

For this assignment, Remake That Genre!, you were meant to find a song from one genre and then find the same song but in a different genre. People may think that this is hard, but I found this to be fairly easy for an odd reason. Since I used to work at certain restaurant establishment where they usually only play jazz music over the speakers, *cough* Olive Garden….They would often play some of my favorite rock music, IN JAZZ FORM!! They have forever ruined these songs for me…So, instead of picking one song, I decided to pick several.

Also, as a side note, I embedded these as YouTube videos instead of SoundCloud because SoundCloud doesn’t have the full original songs on it. They just have a little 30 second preview… SO, without further a due, here are the songs that I could remember at least from the job I had at the Garden of Olives.

The first one is Mr. Brightside by The Killers.

The Original

The Jazz Version

Next we have, Smells like Teen Spirit by Nirvana.

The Original

The Jazz Version

Alright those were the main two that would legitimately be played at Olive Garden all of the time. Now there are several artists that change popular songs into jazz forms such as Paul Anka, Richard Cheese, or my personal favorite Max Raabe where you can see a whole playlist of Max Raabe covers that I love! Another thing that I think is worth mentioning is a channel that I listen to on YouTube that making covers and change songs to sound like ALL sorts of genres such as a 20’s swing, James Bond style, or a 60’s swing. Their channel’s name is Robyn Adele Anderson and here is a playlist called Postmodern Jukebox, it features her covers that I HIGHLY suggest people listen to!!

Now, those were the real examples, while this next one is HIGHLY INAPPROPRIATE, I can not stress that enough. Even though it is inappropriate, I still think it is really funny. This song is “My Neck” by Khia and then the second song is the Jazz form of it.

The Original

The Jazz Version

Leave a Reply

